BMV Battery Monitor Image

BMV Battery Monitor

BMV 602S - Negative Connections on the Starter??

I have a BMV 602S, and ACR Charging Isolator, and a Blue Systems Battery Switch. I use the monitor for both the house bank and starter batteries. I recently had the batteries replaced and see that the electrician connected three cables to the starter battery Neg. I'm assuming that this is incorrect, because I am getting very odd readings on the monitor (SOC 85%, which cannot be true). What should be attached to the Starter Battery neg and what shouldn't be. One of the cables is the neg from the Isolator. I assume that this should go to the "other loads" side of the shunt? I am not an electrician (clearly!) but can fix this with proper guidance. Help!

Steven asked

0 Answers

Lithium battery monitor by BMV + GX

I have an off-grid system using Multi and Pylontech batteries and a Color Control GX. It is installed in another building outside the house. The user wants to monitor the SoC of the pylon inside the house. I was thinking about using a BMV but I have some doubts since the real SoC is on the CCGX from the BMS:

• can I use a shunt for an independent SoC measurement? will this shunt affect in some way the BMS readings?
  • if no, can I connect the BMV to the CCGX and get the SoC data from the BMS and only read it at the BMV?

I have read in the ESS manual that using both SoC measurements can lead to a conflict, but they do not state why. So I am wondering if the conflict remains if I want the 2nd measurement only for display purposes instead of controlling as well.

By the way, there is no internet connection at the site, so monitoring through the VRM portal is not an option.

evillanueva asked

0 Answers

BMV 712 shows voltage but not current, power, consumed Ah, Time remaining - Infinite