article

thebelcherman avatar image
thebelcherman posted

Cerbo GX MK1 & 2 vs Raspberry Pi 4 Model B - The facts.

Wrote this article after receiving my Cerbo GX MK2.

I had been running Venus on a Raspberry Pi 4 Model B for 3 or 4 months.

Was very happy with it, just rock solid. Never once, did I feel like it was being pushed beyond it's processing power.

Not long after setting up the Pi did I realized it's limitations. And the list was long.

No native CAN-Bus support, no relay's, no digital inputs, tank sensors and finally no VE.Direct ports.

VE.Direct was easily dealt with, using Victron's VE.Direct to USB dongle. The others were a little more challenging.

That's when I joined the community, developing code to help overcome these limitations.

The particular project I was working on was @fguiot (aka Lucifer06) RemoteGPIO. This project adds additional Relay's and Digital inputs to any device running Venus OS. But did take long to figured out there was an issue with the Digital inputs not functioning on the Raspberry Pi.

Spent some time and resolved the problem. Now I needed a real GX to make sure that my code ran on it, without issues. Figuring the Cerbo had to be the most popular GX device out there, I placed my order.

My Cerbo GX MK2 arrived, and I fired it up. Launched the Victron Remote Console and was greeted with a very underwhelming experience. Just going from page to page in the Console was painful, analogy would be like trying to walk in 3ft of snow. I had to see what was under the hood of the MK2, it was obviously struggling.

Off I went to get some specifications of the Cerbo's SoC. I couldn't find anything published on the topic and probably for good reason, I wouldn't publish it either.

Pretty clear from my findings, why it behaves like it does.

Specification Cerbo GX Raspberry Pi 4 Model B

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Architecture: armv7l arm7l

CPU(s) 2 4