question

anthony-hendriks avatar image
anthony-hendriks asked

Victron generator assisted ice cream concession trailer

Planning a concession trailer for soft serve ice cream. Because of the large 220v power requirements for these machines most people recommend a 20kw diesel generator.

I had the thought that an inverter and battery could be used to offset the peak draw and also found out about Victron's power assist functionality which I hoped would allow the use of a smaller quieter generator.

I have no experience with any Victron setups but it makes sense to me in theory.

The soft serve machine requires 208-230v - 27 amps (single phase) or 208-230v - 20 amps (3 phase) I'd like to look into adding a soft start to the compressor of the soft serve machine but I don't know if that's feasible.

I'll also need a few other 120v appliances but they'll be small usage in comparison.

I thought a Genmax GM10500iETC may be ideal. It's an inverter generator with 8500w running watts and 10500w peak.

Ideally I could plug in standard 120v AC and charge off of it when available and then run off battery/generator otherwise.

Anyone willing to advise on recommended Victron equipment for this setup? Worth going for 3 phase?

Generator3 phasemultiple inverterssplit phase
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
mvas avatar image
mvas answered ·
Because of the large 220v power requirements for these machines most people recommend a 20kw diesel generator.

Are you in the USA?
In the USA, the Grid is 240v / 120v Split-Phase or 120v / 208v 3-Phase WYE.

Will the ice cream machine (208v-230v Single Phase) operate correctly with 240v Single-Phase?
If they say "Yes", then I would get that in writing

6,500 watts (running) = 240v x 27 amps just for the Ice cream machine
I doubt, the Genmax GM10500iETC alone, can start your ice cream machine.
And it will consume ~1.5 Gallons gasoline per hour.