question

cthonicist avatar image
cthonicist asked

Help! My Victron Phoenix Multiplus has gone crazy - Video link attached

Hi all, total noob here, and I have a problem.

I am based in the North of the UK. I have a Narrowboat on an offline mooring, (no shore power) and my Victron Phoenix Multiplus inverter has been happily managing power from my engine alternator, 475 watts of solar panels via their own separate control unit, and occasional shore line hookups, without difficulty for several years. The boats internal systems are 12 volt, and it is also fitted for UK mains voltage via the inverter or shore power. For the past two years I have exclusively used the 12v power only.

On attending the boat with an engineer for the first time this year for its annual service, he confirmed that both engine and batteries (1 starter, five leisure) were all healthy, and the batteries were charging just fine from the engine. All the onboard 12v systems - lights, fridge, tv etc - also appeared to be working just fine.

However, *this* is what the Phoenix Multiplus looked like (30 second clip):

https://youtu.be/eTJ4Z0ZXxmw

Does anyone know:

a) what the lights are telling me?

b) what could have caused this? (everything was working fine when I last left the boat and no one else has had access to it in the interim)

c) How serious is this?

d) What, if anything, I can do to fix it?

I have zero technical knowledge so reading the manual didn’t help, and I still don’t know if this is a ‘oh, just hit a reset button somewhere’ issue or a ‘panic, it’ll burn your boat down’ issue. Also, boat electricians are rarer than rocking horse doodoo round here, so if I need one, and manage to find one , I at least want to have some idea of what the problem might be before they start sorrowfully shaking their head, sucking their teeth, and emptying my wallet...