question

bathnm avatar image
bathnm asked

New to Lithium and Cycling to 28.4 every day

Hi All,

I am new to Lithium and the Smart Lithium 12,8 batteries vponfigurtbed 2S2P. My boat is not accessible at the moment due to lock down and I have CANBus connected Smart Solar MPPTs.

When I left the boat, I forgot to adjust the MPPT controllers to charge to 27v, therefore maintaining the batteries at float. As there is very little load it means that my Solar charge controllers are cycling the batteries through absorption, and the Victron set 2hr's each day.

Is there anyway to reconfigure the CANBus MPPTs remotely? Will doing this for what is likely a month going to damage the cells.

Many Thanks

1608994203952.png

MPPT SmartSolarLithium BatteryVenus OS
1608994203952.png (153.1 KiB)
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

bathnm avatar image bathnm commented ·

@Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager), Sorry to tag you directly. Was hopping to get some guidance from Victron. This is continuing. Latest graph...

1609945611773.png

I can't get to the boat till likely end of March due to lock downs. This means that for the next 3 months my Lithium bank will go through a charge cycle every day. Will this be a problem?

Everything I have read is that Lithium batteries should not be left in a fully charged state for prolonged periods of time.

Unfortunately I have VE.Can MPPT controllers (SmartSolar MPPT VE.Can 150/70 rev2), connected via VE.Can and not VE.Direct so I can not remotely reconfigure these to a lower charge voltage via VictronConnect.

So the question is am I going to damage the batteries, and if so is there any way I can reconfigure the Solar controllers remotely.

Many Thanks

0 Likes 0 ·
1609945611773.png (172.3 KiB)
1 Answer
Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@Bathnm