question

paul-goddard avatar image
paul-goddard asked

VRM - Issues connecting to Remote Console (Venus OS for RPI v2.60)

Evening all. Victron newbie here, so please be gentle!

I have Raspberry PI 3 with Venus OS v2.60.
Not yet connected it to any of my Victron kit yet, just trying to get the base setup of the Venus OS working.

What works fine:

- Venus OS flashed fine to SD card
- Venus OS boots fine
- Initially connected Venus OS device to ethernet cable, attached to home broadband router (Plusnet).
- Everything I have tested works as I would expect. This includes direct access to the configuration website (hosted on Venus OS) via local IP address + access to VRM and registering Venus OS device on VRM + launching Remote Console from within VRM website (showing two way SSH tunnel is working fine)

Setting the above up on my home network was simply a test. The final location for this Venus OS device is a boat, where connectivity is via 4G SIM card (GiffGaff) and Huawei Mobile WiFi device (Huawei E5576). So, having got the above setup and working fine on home broadband, I then configured the Venus OS device to use my Huawei Mobile WiFi, and proceeded to test everything again.

What is not working

When Venus OS is connected to Huawei Mobile WiFi/GiffGaff sim, one very specific feature stops working. This is the VRM link to launch the Remote Console. I have 100% confirmed that the remote console configuration is turned on, and I have reviewed the following webpages about troubleshooting this functionality, but without any successful action to resolve my issue.

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ccgx:ccgx_faq#q15what_type_of_networking_is_used_by_the_color_control_gx_tcp_and_udp_ports

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ccgx:start#remote_console_on_vrm_-_trouble_shooting

My Observations/Questions