question

rossinonte avatar image
rossinonte asked

12/3000 does not charge or pass through AC

Hi, I have been using a 12/3000 flawlessly for 2 years. Last year cleaned connections and replaced lugs with proper crimps and added lithium. I have a line filter that monitors surge, Hz and power characteristics. Everything still worked fine and my batteries are fully charged at 13.4V.

Today, I plugged in AC source (generator and shore) and no AC gets passed through and the batteries do not charge (however the inverter works fine). I measured 120VAC at the first input terminal (on the left). When I connect AC source, the 12/3000 beeps and clicks then beeps and clicks again 30 seconds later. After 4 or 5 beeps and clicks, it stops trying.

battery chargingshorepower
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi Ross. The 'clicks' suggest to me that the generator input is being rejected. This wouldn't normally happen with mains shore power, but it's an all-too-common thing with gennys - they are *not* created equal..

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/multiplus_faq

You could also try limiting the genny input within the Multi.

Of course you'd need access via a MK3 adaptor or GX box/VRM portal, hopefully you have that..?

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

rossinonte avatar image rossinonte commented ·

woops should have entered this a comment not an answer. Sorry first time doing this:

Historically I have been using the same generator and same shore power sources for 3 years and the 12/3000 suddenly stopped taking that AC yesterday. No settings were changed in the 12/3000. I do have an MK3 and will explore the suggestions in the link you sent. I tried turning down the charge current dial from 19A to 13A while trying both shore and gen power with the same result.