question

fancourt avatar image
fancourt asked

Prevention of PV Potential Induced Degradation (PID) with Multi RS Solar/Inverter RS Smart Solar

I'm still learning about this topic and hoping for some assistance from those more knowledgeable in this area than me...

Given that the RS series solar charge controllers do not allow Earthing/Grounding of the PV DC conductors and that these SCC are designed for array voltages that apparently approach/exceed the voltage threshold where PID of PV arrays becomes an issue, is there anyone from Victron (or elsewhere) who can explain to me either:

1) how this issue is not applicable to these RS products or

2) how to prevent it occurring in systems using these RS products?

I would rather not have to resort to "Anti-PID boxes" that apply a large reverse potential to the array at night to attempt to 'undo' the PID effects caused during daylight operation.

The DC PV circuit on standalone MPPT RS controllers is obviously galvanically isolated from the battery connections, so it should not be possible for any potential between the array and earth/ground to exist.

However I have only just learned that there is NO galvanic isolation between the DC PV array circuit on Multi RS Solar and the AC output, so if the AC output is not configured as IT (ie any of TN-S, TN-C or TN-C-S or TT) then there will likely exist a potential between the PV DC and Earth/Ground.

There is no mention of this lack of galvanic isolation in the Inverter RS Smart Solar manual or datasheet (that I could find), but I am still waiting for confirmation whether the same lack of galvanic isolation as exists on the Multi RS Solar also exists here, but I suspect it does.
https://community.victronenergy.com/questions/289852/inverter-rs-smart-solar-galvanic-isolation.html

I'd be very grateful for any clarification anyone can provide.

mppt rsMulti RSinverter rsrs inverter
2 |3000