question

jayesh avatar image
jayesh asked

3 Phase Grid Tied Battery storage system with Generator Back Up - Please Help

Hi there,

I am quite new to Victron but have been using SMA Sunny Island. I have heard great things about Victron. I have the below scenario.

The panels will be connected to a 3-phase grid-tied solar -PV inverter to the main-distribution board at the house. To this distribution board we will connect BYD LV batteries using a 3 Phase battery inverter. This inverter will operate in self-consumption mode when grid is available.

When the grid goes off the line, the system will back up all 3 phases till the batteries reach their maximum allowed discharge level.

The system will then start a suitable generator automatically (to be provided by you) and will charge the batteries to a pre-set charge level before turning it off. This cycle will continue till the next day, when the Solar panels starts producing power or until the grid comes back on.

Do i use the Multi-plus 2 or the Quattro to achieve the above solution ?

Many thanks

Jay

battery chargingGeneratorgrid3 phase
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Paul B avatar image
Paul B answered ยท

Hi there you should use the Quattro units you would require 3 units for 3 phase. this will then give you auto change over from grid to generator and a priority to grid if both are avaliable.

for ease of use I would akso suggest a Colour Control or a venus GX so that remote site access can be acived.

You dont mention sizing so I have not any coments in that area

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

jayesh avatar image jayesh commented ยท

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the quick reply. I was planning on the below components.

12.6 kWp of panels

15 kW 3 phase SMA Sunny Tripower Inverter

27.6 kWh BYD Batteries.