question

diabolik avatar image
diabolik asked

offgrid PV control logic

power_supply_system_A02.pdf

Hi,

Im new to victron products, but I'm seriously considering to get a complete offgrid system from them for my tiny house. In principle, it is a typical PV offgrid system with solar modules, charge controller, inverter etc. Now one of the ideas was to use the excess energy to heat the water in the DC water tank (Fothermo PVB-80) in times when the batteries are full (or above a certain setpoint value). Another was to automate the startup and shutdown of a backup generator. Basically my requirements to the control system can be summarized in the table below as follows:

event

action

battery SOC is below certain setpoint minimum (e.g. 10%)

signal to startup the backup generator

battery SOC is above certain setpoint value (e.g. 80%)

shut off the backup generator (if it was on)

battery SOC is above certain setpoint value (e.g. 90%)

power the water boiler

battery SOC is below certain setpoint value (e.g. 50% or the same 90%)

cut off the power to the water boiler

battery SOC is below certain setpoint value (e.g. 10%)

power only a specific selected circuit (with critical components like heating contour pumps etc.)

The last item in the table is basically emergency standby: when battery SOC is very low and all power supply modes (PV, backup generator) have failed due to one reason or another, it is necessary to power only the selected circuit with critical components, such as heating contour pump group that will circulate water through a propane tankless heater.