question

Graydon avatar image
Graydon asked

Is the Lynx Shunt going to get some better features?

I had been using the Victron Smart shunt for over 8 months, and have been very very happy with it. I used the VE direct connection to communicate with the rest of the system (MPPTS, Cerbo & Multiplus), and it has worked flawlessly. I recently switched to a Lynx shunt (3 weeks ago), and quite frankly, was very disappointed in its lack of features, considering its a fairly new product.

With the Smart Shunt, I was using it to measure the top and mid point voltages of my 2s3p (24v/300A) system.

It also had a nice feature that you could reset and correct the SOC, should you have to shut the power off. (Both shunts loose SOC when disconnected from power). The Lynx CANNOT be reset to the last SOC, it only allows a 100% SOC reset, which is pretty useless.

The Lynx shunt DOES NOT monitor midpoint voltages or deviations, which is a feature I miss to be able to track if the batteries are becoming imbalanced.

Now, I do not know this for sure, but since using the Lynx Shunt I have had 3 occasions in the last week where the power from the Multiplus shut off due to one of the batteries dropping in voltage too low, under 12.5v. This never happened with the SmartShunt, and I am wondering if the Smart Shunt communicated the mid point deviations to the system, and it compensated in keeping the batteries charged and balanced?

2 hours ago, I reinstalled the SmartShunt to see if it indeed works with the rest of the Victron environment to do a better job of battery charging and maintenance.

Q. Are the features from the Smart Shunt going to be made available in the Lynx Shunt via a firmware upgrade anytime in the future

SmartShuntlynx shunt
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Graydon avatar image
Graydon answered ·