question

5teve avatar image
5teve asked

Home Made VE Direct to USB cable - Story

I posted this on the Victron Facebook group but as Facebook is such a useless tool for searching and finding info.. i'm posting it on here too.. This should make mvader smile..

OK I'm going to tell you a small story about discovery.. Feel free to smirk, giggle, have a huge belly laugh or roll around on the floor laughing your head off.. its ok.. I kinda deserve it.
I'm new to victron and inherently a cheapskate (doesnt go hand in hand with Victron and boats).. I use the excuse that I like to learn to do things.. but its just a cover up.. 1620863479284.png
So a recent installation went ahead in my boat. Multiplus 12/3000/120-16 a BMV700 a rasberry pi3b+ running venus OS 2.7.5 and a 2p4s Calb celled battery -326ah and 250a Daly Smart BMS - I also have 2x Enerdrive DC2DC 50a chargers with MPPT (solar not used yet). I have a victron VEbus MK3 and a home made USB ve direct cable using a well known Prolific chipset uart adapter...
All went well.. and so came the day of switching on.. all worked and operated ok.. great. Tied everything in to the Rpi.. and got readings.. awesome. Charging worked at a phenomenal 120a - even better..

So a day or so later i'm trying to work out why the SOC is declining by the hour.. there is a constant 2.5a ish discharge when 'floating' at 13.5v.. something had to be wrong.. the Multiplus, BMS, 2x DC2DC chargers and multimeter all agreed at the same voltage, the BMV700 was showing 0.15v down on this.. but it was insisted that all other devices were wrong and the BMV was correct.. so on I went troubleshooting.. convinced still the BMV was wrong..
Thanks to Nathan Galvin and Jeff Wiley as well as SY Destiny for the info, troubleshooting etc that they gave over the next few days.. however NOTHING could explain why the multiplus was not covering the DC loads in float.. and why the SOC was declining.. (obviously it was counting amps out)