question

imthebatman avatar image
imthebatman asked

Which BMS for my van system?

Hi all

Currently designing my install for a VW Transporter. I'm a novice when it comes to this, but love to learn as I go. The diagram is what I have so far, a work in progress.

My question at this point is. Do I need the VE Bus BMS when using the Multiplus or will the Smart Shunt be sufficient?

I don't need any external displays and I'm happy to control things via the phone app. Also, I'm aware I'll need a bigger battery for the 12/1200 Multiplus, and I haven't placed some of the fuses I'll need in the diagram yet.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

van-system-v1.jpg

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter Chargerwiringve.bus bms
van-system-v1.jpg (1.6 MiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Ulrich avatar image
Ulrich answered ·

Hello batman,

everything is very good so far. The SmartShunt still needs a connection to the positive pole of the battery and then measures the voltage of the battery and can communicate this to the Smart MPPT solar charge controller so that it adjusts its voltage precisely. However, the Orion TR only regulates its behavior according to the voltage method.

A BMS (smallBMS) could now switch off the discharging and charging of the battery separately as soon as the battery itself reports overvoltage or undervoltage. Two Smart BatteryProtects are then required, which are controlled by the BMS. A Smart BatteryProtect can also be switched on and off via BlueTooth.

I hope I could give you a few more ideas for your installation.

I'm looking forward to a new drawing.

greetings

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

dazey77 avatar image
dazey77 answered ·

You could also consider using one of the victron batteries with the built-in BMS (Lithium Superpack)