question

Nickus de Vos avatar image
Nickus de Vos asked

Screen reader support for blind VictronConnect users

Hi all

I'm a blind user, I use computers and phones with screen reading software.

I recently got a camping trailer with a Smart Solar MPPT controller installed, this is great since I can read all info via the VictronConnect app on my iPhone.

The VictronConnect app is however not completely accessible on the iPhone or the Mac, there are unlabelled buttons and fields etc. which makes it a bit difficult to use.

I want to please urge the VictronConnect developers to make your VictronConnect app especially on the iPhone but also the Mac more accessible to screen reader users.

I'm by no means a programmer, but from what I know, Apple provides excellent guide lines to app developers on exactly how to get their apps to be accessible with the Voiceover screen reader.

These apps is the only way for blind people to use these type of solar and electrical devices and Victron is already way ahead of the others in terms of accessibility, but there is still room for improvement.

Thank you

Nickus

VictronConnect
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) avatar image
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) answered ·

Thank you for reporting this, I was not aware that it did not support those features.

I agree that it should and I have created a ticket for the software developers.

I also welcome any other suggestions you might have for how we could improve the products and make them more accessible for all customers.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Nickus de Vos avatar image Nickus de Vos commented ·

Hi Guy