question

martin-m avatar image
martin-m asked

[Feature Request] Ability to operate a MultiPlus II as a charger only

Description:

As an installer I want to be able to integrate an external generator (AC) as smooth as usual using Victron components without negative side effects to the existing installation.

Imagine an installation like this:

Existing ESS installation e.g. 3-phase System represented by 3 MultiPlus II, a Venus device, a Fronius PV Converter behind the Multis (with enabled MG50 / need for frequency shifting) and one or multiple MPPTs connected to a BYD battery

As charging device I want to use a MultiPlus II as a charger only - therfor the Multi would only be connected to the venus device by VE.bus, to the generator on the AC IN, and to the battery.

This MultiPlus should affect the existing ESS System (which provides the AC power for consumption) in the same way as a MPPT does.

Integrating the generator, connected to the additional Multi, should have all advantages the existing system already has, such as:

• Optimal battery charging
    • Venus device knows about the charger and can take its power into account
    • the charger receives the currently allowed maximum charge current and can charge according to the BMS / DVCC
  • available data of the charger on DBUS/MQTT/Modbus
  • Displaying the charger in its role as a generator and its provided power in the same way a Quattro does

feature-request-multi-as-charger.jpg

As read in the community forum and responses from my very experienced and helpful dealer, there are several possibilities to integrate a generator into an existing MultiPlus II ESS System, but in my opinion all of them are not as smooth as I am used to from Victron. They are also do not provide the upper listed advantages (And I'm pretty sure that the system design and the architecture could be enabled to do this).

This is an implementation detail, but It could work like this: