question

hummingbear avatar image
hummingbear asked

SmartSolar MPPT 150/100 Tr questions: Data Storage, API, Load Output

I recently installed the SmartSolar MPPT 150|100-Tr charge controller. I love it so far, and a huge selling point for me was being able to monitor the controller from an app and also export the data.

I have a few questions about this controller that'd I'd love help with:

1. How much data will the charge controller store? What kind of storage is inside it? I would obviously like to keep the data for the lifetime that i have it and want to make sure I don't loose any data
  2. Is it possible to query the charge controller's data from some kind of API? I'm a developer and I'd love to be able to query the current stats of my charge controller for other projects I have. Is there some interface I can setup to do this from a local network?
  3. The controller has a remote and relay output. I want to setup a tablet next to the charge controller and don't have any AC outlets in my electrical room. I obviously have a ton of DC connections, but I'd love to avoid setting up another breaker just to power a 3v 2a USB connection for my tablet. Can I use the Load Out of the charge controller to power a USB device and if so, how?

Thanks in advance for any help, much appreciated. I'm really excited to be part of the victron community. I've been eyeing these systems for a while and really happy to be using them now.
chargercharge controller compatibility
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @hummingbear

Welcome to the world'o'blue. I note on another post you have a Smartshunt on the way, and I infer you're into data.