question

leftcoastman35 avatar image
leftcoastman35 asked

VE.BUS BMS charge and load disconnect issues and possible solutions

I have installed and operated a mostly Victron Lithium system on my sailboat for a little over a year now. The system components are described at the bottom of the post. Apologies in advance as I am not an engineer. From the beginning, I have had trouble getting two problems solved, both related to the Ve.Bus BMS:

(1) Load disconnect - I tried to use the Victron BP220 but it melted within a week. The boat draws far more current than the BP220 can handle and moreover, the original wiring is such that it would take me many many many hours to separate the "power supply" wires from the "control circuit" wires.

I have been searching for a possible solution, but Victron does not provide a bi-stable relay that can handle the currents required by my boat's electrical system.

I have located the Blue Sea ML Solenoid (500 amps continuous) and would like some input on whether it's the right product and if so, ways to wire it correctly.

https://www.bluesea.com/products/7703/ML_Solenoid_-_24V_DC_500A

Instructions are below

http://assets.bluesea.com/files/resources/instructions/990180170.pdf

My understanding is that it's a bi-stable relay that includes a switch that applies +ve momentarily to one terminal to close the solenoid and +ve to a different terminal to open the solenoid.

The VE.Bus BMS load disconnect, however, is normally high (roughly supply voltage minus 1v) and goes open circuit (zero volts) when load needs to be disconnected.

Is there a way to integrate the Blue Sea relay into my system? Or is there a Victron product out there to enable load disconnect that I didn't see?