question

Anita avatar image
Anita asked

ESS: VE Bus state & charging behaviour??

I have a new client with existing system with ESS. Although I have read up extensively about ESS, I have no previous actual experience with it, since all my clients are off-grid.

I have 2 questions:

1) VE Bus State:

I notice that the VE Bus state is always in Bulk, and never in Invertering state, even when using power from the battery. See photo attached.

Why is this? Should it not be in Invertering state, when using battery power?

All my off-grid clients are permanently in Inverting state.

2) Inverter charging behaviour:

Is it possible to setup the inverter to charge the batteries, when they are at the Low DC voltage, and then stop charging when full?

I only see Sustain Voltage and the Scheduled charging times. With Scheduled charging time, what if Low DC voltage is reached outside of a Scheduled charging time? When outside of the Scheduled charging time, it just stays at the Sustain voltage.

So basically to charge like in a normal grid-interactive system.

I hope my questions makes sense....

System consists of 10kVa Quattro, SmartSolar 250/100, 330Wp panels, GX, BMV & Sirius Supercapacitors.

Regards,

Anita

battery chargingESSVE.Bussmart solar set-up help
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Lucian Popescu (Victron Energy Staff) avatar image
Lucian Popescu (Victron Energy Staff) answered ·