question

mattestlea avatar image
mattestlea asked

VE Bus BMS Charge Disconnect (Bluesolar 150/35 MPPT & Orion TR Smart 12/12 30A)

Hi all,

Just after some sanity checking here as I'm a complete newbie to the world of Victron.

I'm running 2 x 200ah Victron LiFePo4 Batteries controlled by a VE Bus BMS.

So far I have linked the BMS to my Multiplus II via an RJ45 cable. As it is a Multiplus II, I have not needed to use the mains detector, as described in the manual.

Additionally, I have linked the load disconnect on the BMS to the H pin on a Smart Battery Protect running between my Lynx and 12v fuseboard. This Smart Battery protect is grounded to an earth busbar via the GND pin.

How am I doing so far? The batteries are now protected from high loads on the 12v side via the SBP, and 240v loads via the RJ45 cable connecting the BMS to the inverter.

The charge disconnect is where it gets tricky. Because I want to be able to shut off power from my MPPT and Orion to protect my Lithium Batteries.

The MPPT (Bluesolar 150/35)
I've been made aware of a VE Direct non inverting cable that I can use to connect the MPPT to the Charge disconnect pin on the BMS. However I'm using a Cerbo GX to monitor everything and I would prefer to keep the VE Direct port on the MPPT reserved for this.

Instead, I'm thinking of using another Smart Battery Protect between the MPPT and Lynx Distributor that will be linked to the charge disconnect. This idea I got from one of Ross Lukemans videos on YouTube. How does this sound?

The Orion (TR Smart 12/12 30A Isolated)
This is where it gets a little tricky for me to understand, but let me talk you through what I have so far. I have placed a 3 way Wago connector between the charge disconnect pin on the BMS and the Smart Battery Protect after the MPPT I have just mentioned, and I'm running a third wire from this Wago connector to the H-Pin on the Orion.