question

suavek avatar image
suavek asked

Venus GX relay to control a 5A 12V blower

Can I use Venus' built-in relay to control 5A 12V blower?

Venus GX - VGXRelaycontrol
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image
Matthias Lange - DE answered ·

No, I think that is to much for the relay of the Venus.

But you can use the Venus relay to control a stronger relay that can drive the blower.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

suavek avatar image
suavek answered ·

Thank you for your opinion, which is similar to mine. As I prefer to keep a circuit as simple as possible, I need the answer based on the data. In the Venus' datasheet, there is a limit of 6A 30VDC. I'm not an electrician, but I know that different types of loads have different properties and I want to be sure.venus-gx-datasheet-relay.png

6 comments
2 |3000

Duivert NL avatar image Duivert NL commented ·

like matthias lange said, better use a power relay to protect your venus relay

dont forget to put a diode over the power relay coil to protect the venus relay contact

1719990333883.png

0 Likes 0 ·
1719990333883.png (58.8 KiB)
Fideri avatar image Fideri Duivert NL commented ·

@Duivert NL

Just a clarification on your drawing. I have seen many contrasting drawings. In yours, you have the diode across the negative and positive wires.

According to some sources, with such a connection, the diode only serves as a "bypass" diode, not a "blocking" diode. Such sources say that for a blocking diode function, one has to connect the diode along the powered line (positive only).

Or is it the other way round? I'm confused.

F.

0 Likes 0 ·
Alex Pescaru avatar image Alex Pescaru Fideri commented ·