question

gratzer avatar image
gratzer asked

Phoenix frying batteries!

Hi! I'm new to this so excuse my simplistic question! I bought an old boat that has a Victron Phoenix (multi) compact 12 1200 50 inverter/charger running on 220v. When I put it into charge mode the battery bank (3 x 110ah wet lead acid leisure and 1 × 110ah wet lead acid starter battery (split with a victron diode splitter) would start fizzing. I checked the voltage and it was about 14.5 (can't remember exactly but what I would have expected). I checked the batteries and the electrolyte was low so I topped them up and tried again. It fizzed! I assume the batteries were old and replaced them with new EFB batteries 3 x 110ah and 1 x 100ah. When I took the old ones out I realised they were only a couple of years old so I assumed the last owner had abused them. Installed the new batteries, turned on the cage charger any they all started fizzing within about 10 seconds! The voltage isn't too high so I'm assuming something crazy is going on with the amps? I played around with the jumpers to make sure it was set to flooded lead acid. My clamp meter won't read through the wires so I can't check what the amps are. There's no fizzing when I run the alternator plug in a 20 amp smart charger. Is this a common problem? Is there an easy fix?! Thanks!

Phoenix Inverter
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
snoobler avatar image
snoobler answered ·

Phoenix is an inverter only, so I assume you mean a Multiplus Compact.

Depending on battery type, 50A charging is good for about 500Ah battery. If you have less battery, there is a risk of electrolyte loss and damage due to excessive current.