question

kyros32 avatar image
kyros32 asked

Cerbo GX - Wifi Access Point - Troubles connecting with Mac M1 and iPhone

Hello, community,

Lately, I am struggling with connection issues to Cerbo GX and EVCS wallbox access points. This only applies to Apple products (tested with iPhone 14, Mac M1).

With Android devices works like a charm. I hope I won't need to carry around an Android device in the future :-)

Well,

what happens. With great troubles (repeatedly being disconnected and asked for an AP password again and again) I managed to connect to AP with default passwords. Then, I cannot reach web servers of devices ie. 192.168.0.1 or 172.24.24.1 (I don't get any error - the page just does not load). I have ping around 2 000ms up to 4000 ms.

I mean... what's wrong? I have been using the same devices for commissioning for more than 2+ years. I don't think I am a BFU in regards to Victron commissioning. I experienced this again today - Cerbo GX 3.30 and EVCS 1.23. All other networks (hotspot, router, ...) work fine.

Are there any known issues? I have a suspicion that this is related to WPA/WPA/WPA3 security, because anytime I connect to Cerbo / EVCS my Mac marks it as unsecured network.

Regards, kyros32

cerbo gxwifievcs
3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Both gx and evcs are running on 2.4ghz, maybe that's the reason. I also have an M2 MBP and I don't have issues
0 Likes 0 ·
kyros32 avatar image kyros32 Lucian Popescu (Victron Energy Staff) ♦♦ commented ·
Thank you, Mr. Popescu. So I understand that on Victron's side, there are no known issues in FW regarding Wifi AP at the moment.

I think 2.4 GHz is ok because I had trouble connecting directly client --> cerbo gx AP (so there is no router in the middle which could potentially be 5 Ghz only) - in such case since Mac OS sees the Wifi, it must work ok with that band also.