question

alexm avatar image
alexm asked

First large victron self install noob question

Ive installed only small scale solar but I have some electrical experience otherwise. I'm installing 20x 400w panels on a hillside terraced location and in future also want to connect to feed back into the grid but it's not going to be grid connected for a year or so.

Can I ask if anyone sees anything I've done wrong with my spec and also what MPPT/Charge controller would I need for the Multiplus II 10000/48/230. I would also be looking to setup a 3kw micro hydro turbine in future - if that makes any difference to the charge controller spec?

Thanks very much and sorry for the "please check my homework" nature of this question

screenshot-2024-04-21-at-73510-pm.png

https://imgur.com/a/u1omJWH

Multiplus-IIMPPT Controllersoffgridsolar
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·

You need a separate controller for each array. Or some of the larger controllers with multiple trackers, one per array.

You could wire the two 3 panel arrays as one if they get equal illumination through the day. And are wired identically. But as distance is different, probably not.

Pick the controllers using the Victron online MPPT calculator.

Strongly suggest you get professional advice. You could be making some expensive and dangerous mistakes here.

I'd also say that charge controllers have nothing to do with the multiplus, but everything to do with panels and batteries.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

duivert avatar image
duivert answered ·

I dont think those lg 3 phase ESS batteries are going to work

For victron supported batteries see:

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/battery_compatibility:start