question

stavros avatar image
stavros asked

Total Newbee - Multiplus Inverter upgrade question!

Hi there - hoping somebody can help with what I hope is a simple question...

I recently bought a camper, and am hoping to upgrade some aspects before I go away.

It has a Victron system with the exception of the battery which is another brand (100Ah Lithium).

Installed is 200 solar (I think in series - 2 100 panels), a 75 / 15 mppt controller (I think - van is at my folks & my pictures didn't save) and a multiplus 12/500/20 charger inverter..

I'd like to increase the potential output on the inverter for those 'just in case' moments rather than it being primary (will mostly be on EHU).

I plan to add some more domestic sockets in the van at the same time (only one location currently with 3 sockets)

I suspect the easiest way to do this would be to upgrade the Multiplus to at least the 1200 unit?

The real question is - will this be as simple as swapping out the units with the existing set up/wireing, or will I need to address any further parts or settings which make it more complicated?

Indeed if there is another potential solution, like adding an additional inverter I'd like to hear about it - but suspect the former to be the neatest solution... but like I say - absolute NEWBEE!

multiple inverters
7 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Fideri avatar image Fideri commented ·
@Stavros

You might need to think about how much your solar panels can produce. Detailed specifications of your solar panels?

Is expanding the battery bank an option? The battery discharge figure is very important.

In summary, it is more complicated than you assume and provide details of your gear.

F.

0 Likes 0 ·
klim8skeptic avatar image klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·
@Stavros do look at your existing battery specs.

Esp the max charge and discharge current.

The multi 1200 will charge up to 50a.