question

kea avatar image
kea asked

How to control humidity using Ruuvitag, inverter and dehumidifier?

I just start playing with Cerbo GX and installed large image to be able to use Node-Red and Signal K.

I have the following devices installed in my boat:

• Victron Cerbo GX
  • Victron BMV-700 battery monitor
  • Victron Phoenix Inverter
  • Victron SmartSolar
  • RuuviTag with humidity and temperature sensor
  • Dehumidifer (AC) connected to the inverter

What do I want to do:

1. Read temperature, humidity and batterypercent (SOC)
  2. Make logic evaluating the values
  3. Control the inverter to reduce humidity

Question:

• I assume this needs to be done in node-red?
  • Could anyone make a quick describtion how I can do this in node-red? If I get the basic instructions I guess I could figure out the rest myself. I am new to node-red and Cerbo.
  • Any thoughs about what conditions I should use to keep humidity low? I want to prevent moisture from remaining in the boat over time.
  • I need to keep standby power as low as possible. How much power do the inverter pull in standby mode? Perhaps I can reduse the standby power by using hard wired remote start instead of controlling inverter over ve-direct? What do you think?

cerbo gxBMV Battery MonitorMPPT SmartSolarPhoenix Inverterruuvi sensors
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
matt1309 avatar image
matt1309 answered ·

Hi @KEA

1. Yes

2. First get all variables into node red. This process will depend on how new a venus version you're running. The new version you can read the data straight from global. This is explained here:

Node-RED - update for Victron users - Victron Energy

If however you're using old version you'll need to have inidividual flows for each piece of data ie temp, battery data etc then use change node to set the topic of each one is msg.topic = temp

msg.topic = batterVoltage