question

Neo Nos avatar image
Neo Nos asked

Can I mix and match Victron Lithium Batteries (External BMS) of different capacities? 100/200/330ah

Sorry I am a newbie and new to Victron. I setup my own van rig in 2020 and been learning. Just saved up and bough all the Victron Equipment. I want to but batteries now, I am under the impression that with Lithium and Victron in particular unlike other batteries i can mix and match batteries in parallel without any down site is that correct, as long as they are all relatively new?

Can I setup my system with an 100ah battery then add a 330ah in parallel next month? or should I always consistently buy the same capacity batteries? Also how long/after how many months would it not be a good idea to add a brand new battery without damaging it?

I ended up buying a 200AH battery just to be safe in case you guys tell me to always get a battery of the same size I thought the 200AH was a decent size, but I want to invest in 330AH as I add them but after buying 10K but now I am wondering if I should double check and perhaps I am wrong and it is not a good idea to mix and match victron batteries?

I read some other posts on this topic but not one really gave a straight forward answer, it was mostly along the lines of that the separate BMS and voltage similarity of the VE batteries is the same and can easily be mix and matched if they are in parallel.

Most answers try to explain the physics of it outside the scope of Victron, I am only interested in a practical application of the specific Victron Lithium batteries, however seems like these are relatively newer products and less discussed on the forum.

Thank you for your time, and sorry for my lack of knowledge. I am an engineer and will learn fast now that I have become so heavily invested in Victron after much research.