question

freko avatar image
freko asked

Victron Phoenix compact multi 12/800/35 how to use and setup.

Hi all, I am new to all this inverter stuff, I bought a second hand Victron Phoenix compact multi 12/800/35 at a good price. Would anyone have a guide on how to use and setup? I would like to connect a 300w solar panel to the inverter with two 100ah batteries to run some small tools in my shed and a laptop. I don't know anything about this inverter and if it is even working, I did connect a small 12v 7ah battery to see if it would power on. When I press the on switch the green Led light for 1 or 2 seconds and then goes off and the Red alarm Led comes on. Please, would someone send me a link or something like a setup user guide and wiring positions? It came with a plug and a 2-foot length of cable connected to AC in, and a long ethernet leads a small control panel. I don't know where the AC out connections are. Sorry but I am a Victron Noob. So be gentle. Thanks

Phoenix Invertervictron products
9 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

klim8skeptic avatar image klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·

Hi Freko,

Have a look at https://www.victronenergy.com/ at their model range, find out which one you have and download the user manual.

It sounds like you have a Phoenix (inverter only) rather than a multiplus (inverter/charger).

For a solar charge controller a Smartsolar 100/20 would suit your 300w panel.

Your 7ah battery will have to be fully charged before you hook it up and test (then it would only be able to light up a 25w bulb for a few minutes), better to test with a larger battery, don't forget fuses!

0 Likes 0 ·
freko avatar image freko klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·

Hi, thanks for replying here is a link to my model user manual.

Mine is Victron Phoenix compact multi 12 800 35

https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Manual-ML-PhoenixMultiCompact.pdf