question

bbuster avatar image
bbuster asked

Converting older system to Raspberry Pi VenusOS

My parents have bought a motorhome with an "older" Victron Energy MultiPlus Compact module (labeled with firmware 142)

They also have 2 solar panels with 2 CBE PRS 240 modules but we have another solar panel (Hyundai 395W max, 48v which would be replacing the other 2 solar panels).

I think we also need a new Victron Energy MPPT module.
I have installed VenusOS on a Raspberry Pi 4 and have bought a MK3 to usb dongle.

Now the motorhome has an older style Victron Energy DMC. Will i be able to remove this and use a touchscreen on the Raspberry Pi and control the MutliPlus Compact module (set on, off or charge only)

And will i be able to connect the new MPPT module via Direct USB to the Raspberry Pi and get the solar information?

I am a developer and have made a few devices with an ESP32. I have read the VenusOS detects bluetooth signals to show for example watertank levels. Is this protocol open and can i connect my own ESP32 bluetooth firmware to send my own information to the Raspberry Pi Venus OS (if so, where can i find the information on how to send the right information via BLE?)

The motorhome had 3x AGM batteries. We want to "upgrade" to 2 Lithium batteries (2 x LiTime 300Ah LifePo4). Can i do this as well with this older MultiPlus (i think i need to upgrade the firmware with the USB dongle and setup different charging values).

Thanks already for the information and help

Venus OSRaspberry Pimultiplus ve.busBluetooth Low Energy - BLE
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

9 Answers
Mike Dorsett avatar image
Mike Dorsett answered ·

you would only need to upgrade the MPPT module if the old module can't cope with the charging current from the new panel. The MPPT will connect to the pi via an isolated serial interface, eg the Victron VEdirect/usb cable.