question

mattyappleseed avatar image
mattyappleseed asked

Seeking Advice on Cerbo GX: Distributed Voltage and Current Control (DVCC)

Greetings and Good Tidings to All,

Novice here seeking some guidance on Distributed Voltage and Current Control (DVCC) capabilites of the Cerbo GX from seasoned and experience individuals.

First Question

I have been reading through section 11 of the Cerbo GX Manual over and over again and understand that the Cerbo GX is able to "Limit charge current" of the MPPT and MULTI

https://www.victronenergy.com/media/pg/Cerbo_GX/en/dvcc---distributed-voltage-and-current-control.html#UUID-134a51ed-7ac6-c8b0-5e31-902b3c5fb68a

In my case, we are installing an MPPT 100/50 and a MultiPlus II 3000 and am hoping the "Limit charge current" applies to these models... would that be true or false?

Second Question

The Cerbo Manual says, "where an intelligent battery BMS is installed and connected via CAN-bus...for such batteries there is no need to wire allow to charge (ATC) and allow to discharge (ATD) connections to the AUX inputs of a Multi or Quattro."

https://www.victronenergy.com/media/pg/Cerbo_GX/en/dvcc---distributed-voltage-and-current-control.html#UUID-7cff74c6-8715-ceaf-1b6d-6e050eeba3e5

Clarification: we are installing 2x Victron 200 AH Lithium Smart Battery and a Smart BMS CL 12-100

I know you can wire Allow to Charge (ATC) & Allow to Discharge (ATD) from the Smart BMS CL 12-100 to the MultiPlus II Inverter/Charger with the Non-Inverting Remote On-Off Cable, but I wanted to verify that wiring the ATC/ATD is not necessary if the Cerbo GX is installed and DVCC is configured.

On that note, do I still need to connect the Smart BMS CL12-100 to the MPPT 100/50 Solar Controller? (via the Charge Disconnect with a VE.Direct Non-Inverting Remote On-Off Cable?)

The Manual does not mention anything about this connection.

Hoping to find out whether all those cables are necessary before spending the $76.

Third Question