question

ako avatar image
ako asked

Lithium Presets

I am completely new to Lithium batteries and about to add one as a backup now and intend to replace my AGMs with them when the time is right however i noticed that the MPPT and DC to DC charger preset for Lithium includes a Float stage , the battery manifacturer and everything i have read say NOT to have a Float stage as it can cause overcharging ,. They say that al that is required is a Bulk and Absorption charge and give the Charging Voltage where there is not a Preset Option .

Could someone please explaine why the presets contridict manifactures recomendations .

Lithium Battery
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
seb71 avatar image
seb71 answered ·

If it is LiFePO4, set the float voltage to 3.35V (cell voltage; multiply with the number of LiFePO4 cells in series in your battery; so for instance in case of a 16-cell battery, set Float to 53.6V).

A charged battery will not charge further at that voltage.

Keeping the DC battery bus at that voltage will power the loads (inverter for instance)., without discharging the battery, if the MPPTs can provide enough power for those loads.

I answered a similar question here in more detail:
https://community.victronenergy.com/questions/228156/712-bmv-settings-with-renogy-inverter-charger-not.html

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Matthias Lange - DE avatar image
Matthias Lange - DE answered ·

The preset is Victrons recommendation for the Victron lithium batteries.
If you think that doesn't fit your batteries you can freely change the settings as you want.

2 |3000

ako avatar image
ako answered ·