question

tr0y avatar image
tr0y asked

Multipluss Recreational Vehicle application / Solar DC first then AC from shore by SOC or Voltage ?

Looking for guidance on how to prioritize DC / Solar / Battery in a mobile application.

I am looking to minimize costs when plugged into shore power. I would like to use my PV array to run the majority of my loads down to a voltage set point or SOC and once that threshold is crossed have the backup AC power kick in to run loads and if need be recharge batteries.

My system is a Multiplus 24/3000, Midnite solar 150 Charge Controller, 5.5KwH Tesla Module 1600 Watts of PV on the roof, and assorted other parts.

I looked into assistants and ESS but those look to be more of a stationary grid tie application, maybe I am wrong ? I am new to Victron equipment but not new to solar and the related gear.

Can anyone steer me in the right direction ? Thanks !

Lithium Batteryoffgriddc system
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Paul B avatar image
Paul B answered ·

Hi Troy

I would be tring to use the ESS as this does what you are looking to do quite easly.

if a generator is involved then you have to be carefull that power is NOT exported back to the generator. but as you are using DC coupled I cant see a issue there.

you may have to change the Solar Reg add BMV 712 and install a CCGX or Venus Gx so that full management can be achived, if you dont change the solar reg then you would have to use the BMV to control the solar side, and this should be posable if you use the SOC in the ESS tied to the BMV as the master battery monitor.

the ess is not recomended for this but that does not mean you cant try it out

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi Troy. There's possibly other ways to do this too, and depends what you want.