question

chrisga avatar image
chrisga asked

Incorrect behavior with CCGX and Multiplus 12/3000/120

The CCGX and the Multiplus are not behaving as expectied. This is system is on a sailboat with a Multiplus 12/3000/120, CCGX, SmartSolar, SmartShunt, 2 300ah Relion lithium batteries in parallel. There are two propulsion engines with 80a alternators each and a 13Kw AC generator.

The Victron components replaced the AC Charger (no inverter), PV charger and added the CCGX and the SmartShunt. Originally AC was only available via shore power or the generator. I have no documentation of how these components are actually wired into the system. I have suspicions that it isn't quite right, but I can't figure it out.

I'm an electrical engineer so provide as technical answer as you wish.

1. Charge current is only 30-50 amps. I set the DIPs to allow 50a AC in and 100% chare current out. With the engines running the alternators can deliver 80a. With either charge source the system never reaches absorption voltage (14.4V). The highest voltage I've seen is 13.9V.

2. The currents/energy displayed by the CCGX don't make sense. With the generator on AC loads displayed are ~1000w when there is no such load. This system has a breaker between the gen and the MP. This is really odd: when I turn off the breaker leaving the gen running the AC loads stays at 1000w. If I turn off the generator the loads drop to a reasonable quiescent 25w.

3. The SOC jumps from 60% to 100% when I switch off the breaker controlling input to the MP. The generator is on in this situation. Switching off the generator does not reset the SOC.

4. The DC in/out display is wrong the the generator on. With the generator off the DC loads are ~180w. When the generator is on the DC jumps to 5-700w.

5. Do the DIPs override settings made with VRM?

6. I'm assuming the CCGX displays the following:
AC in as measured by the MP
AC out as measured by the MP
PV in as measured by the SmartSolar with it's own shunt.