question

locosan avatar image
locosan asked

Victron BMV-700 - nothing on - amps flowing in on camper van

Hi - just joined - put in 2 100Ah agm for my auxilary in my camper van - also have a battery doctor connected on front side of the van which seems to be working correctly. Nothing is on in the van and the Victron700 is showing 2A coming in to charge ? could this be 1 battery charging the other that is the "monitor side" for these 2 batteries. i.e. batteries syncing? I am new at this am I making any sense?

VictronConnect
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi. Presumably your 'battery doctor' is an isolator between the tow vehicle and the van. And yes, it's possible that 2A is batt 'syncing'. The only way to know for sure is to physically disconnect them.

Typically one might expect an electronic isolator to open when the engine shuts down, so you don't deplete the start battery.

If you suspect the 700 is wrong, lift a cable from one end of the shunt to see what it shows then.

We can't offer much more without better info. I'm even guessing to get this far.. :)

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

locosan avatar image
locosan answered ·