question

kirs-ten-henson avatar image
kirs-ten-henson asked

Pylontech battery and Multiplus showing different SOC

Hi, I have on off-grid system with 3x Pylontech US2000C batteries and a Multiplus II 48/5000/70. I believe I have set up the system such that the Multiplus BMS overrides the battery BMS. I have manually set the charging limits advised by Victron ie absorption 52V, float 51V through the VictronConnect App

Currently the Pylontech batteries indicate a charge of 100% at 52.2V.

However, the Mulitplus shows a SOC of only 67.5%. The sun is shining and no charge is being pushed into the batteries, they are reading idle.

This appears to be okay for the batteries but I am unclear as to why the SOC reading is so different between the Multiplus and the battery BMS.

In addition, the smart solar indicator light suggests it is in absorption mode, however when I check on the victronconnect app the system never records an absorption nor a float phase.

I am new to all of this and have been playing with settings and reading docs for a while now, so any help (in language for beginners) very welcome!

Multiplus-IIbattery chargingPylontech
2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kirs-ten-henson avatar image kirs-ten-henson commented ·

Somew screenshots of data readings from today...not sure if this helps figure out what I've got wrong here?

screenshot-27.png screenshot-28.png

0 Likes 0 ·
screenshot-27.png (93.9 KiB)
screenshot-28.png (142.8 KiB)
kirs-ten-henson avatar image kirs-ten-henson kirs-ten-henson commented ·
0 Likes 0 ·
1 Answer
nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

Why would you want to not use the battery bms?

The multi does not have a bms, it has an internal meter, one that does not "see" the power flows from the solar chargers so it is always inacurate.

A basic search here will show many articles on this topic.