question

luke4140 avatar image
luke4140 asked

Smart BMS 12/100 low charge rate

I have a victron lifepo4 90ah battery connected to my smart bms 12/100 and a smart victron shunt. I am using the bms to charge the house battery from the vehicle alternator. The vehicle has a temperature controlled alternator (new hilux) I have fitted 2 x 30amp fuses and set the bms to charge 40amps. This is a new set up and the most charge I can see from the shunt is 12amps when the engine is cold, and drops down to 5amps when hot. The house battery is at 40%. Why can I not get any more charge ? My friend has same car and enerdrive dcdc and he can get 40amps. I have triple checked wiring and all is good.

thanks Luke

battery chargingBMSalternator
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

ell249 avatar image ell249 commented ·

Hi Luke - heads up I'm not a pro, unfortunately just someone with the same/similar issue.

But first thing might be to check your cable size and connections are clean/sufficient. Particularly if the Smart BMS is mounted away from the car battery/alternator.... Just to make sure it's not the cable that's warming up, then causing a higher volt drop once the cable is under load - which the Smart BMS in turn thinks is the alternator limit and dials back it's output.

Assuming that's all OK - the next challenge could be the smart alternator initially putting out a high-er voltage to replenish the start battery after starting. Which initially allows the Smart BMS to charge at the 12A rate you're seeing, before the alternator ramps down (start battery now replenished) and therefore so does the Smart BMS to 5A you're seeing.