question

Nick Roberts avatar image
Nick Roberts asked

Shelly EM (Single Phase) with Cerbo GX

Morning All,

I'm relatively new to the world of Victron and a total noob when it comes to coding and python. To keep it brief, what I hope to achieve is to fix some quirks with the Shelly EM single phase integration and then use it as an external Energy meter which can then be used with the Cerbo's ESS Assistant control.

I have managed to integrate my Shelly into the Venus Device list by following the guide here:

https://github.com/vincegod/dbus-shelly-em-smartmeter

Props to the chaps who ran with this project, they've done a smashing job. The few quirks I've found is that from the device list, shelly reports 0W used and if you open up the menu, it shows AC Phase L1's data, it has displays for L2 & L3 (which is weird considering its only meant to be single phase?) and the AC Totals aren't reporting. venus-device-list.png

Now, thinking logically the integration was built upon https://github.com/fabian-lauer/dbus-shelly-3em-smartmeter

I'm wondering in among the coding that L2 & L3 havent been removed for this single phase example - and following that logic, the AC totals aren't working vecause theres no data for L2 & L3?

venus-shelly-em-page.pngvenus-shelly-em-page-2.png

Second part of my question is that now that the Shelly EM is integrated, it doesn't show up under energy meters to be used as a device to run the ESS assistant. Is there any way of getting it to show up in this menu?

venus-energy-meters.png

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to read this!

- Nick

gx device
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
pau1phi11ips avatar image
pau1phi11ips answered ·

The L2 & L3 show up as default. I have a Shelly 1 Plus PM attached via a grid-tie inverter and an ET112 single phase meter (on my main grid connection) attached via RS485. Both show L2 & L3.