question

choicelocks avatar image
choicelocks asked

Problem connecting mk3 interface easy Solar2 gx com port not found?

We tried downloading mk3 driver but couldn’t and tried help suggestions. I see in other answers advice to disconnect gx but how is it possible when built in to easy solar. The inverter is connected to power from pylontech which has 3 led state of charge showing. Inverter is turned on. Display screen on inverter is operating. we have a password which opens interface and interface is connected with victron manufactured rj45. Just not detecting com port

VictronConnect
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Alistair Warburton avatar image
Alistair Warburton answered ·

I am not an expert on the MK3 but I do have and use one, occasionally.

The COM port of this equasion is not likely to be anything to do with the connections on the Victron end of things. My MK3 has never auto detected the com port under Windows 10 or 11 and I suspect, in my case, it is because I have a load of other programs that use serial drivers installed.

Befoer you go too deep open windows device manager and plug in the MK3.
You should see a new USB device pop up and it will either be asociated with a new vertual COM port or it will have a yelow triange on it telling you that Windows dos't know what to do with that device, IE it needs a new/different driver.

Once you have a COM port asociated with the MK3 you can select that manually in VE Config 3.