question

solarmanu avatar image
solarmanu asked

Discharging instead of charging on dash: is my setup actually working? Or are these issues serious?

Hello,

I'm a newbie with a new installation in East Africa (Victron Multiplus 5KVa, Smart Solar 250/100, Venus Cerbo GX, 10 solar panels of 345W and one Weco 4k4 battery). It's fully off-grid.

There seems to be a few issues with the setup and I was hoping some here would know how to fix it, or let me know if there's nothing wrong. Any help would be really welcome, thanks!!

I had a professional install this but there seems to be mistakes in their setup (e.g. initially there was no power usage showing on the dashboard) and so I want to check that everything is in order.

1 - The charging lights on the 4k4 Weco battery always indicate that it's discharged, even fully charged:

whatsapp-image-2021-11-18-at-072724.jpeg

2 - The Cerbo dashboard is showing the battery discharging when it's actually charging and vice-versa, like here:

whatsapp-image-2021-11-16-at-065411.jpeg

3 - At night, the system (fridge mostly) takes 0.05KWh of power on average for around 11-12h. It starts discharging from 6pm (until then it's 99% full) and charging from 6am. But it looses 1kWh during the night and the battery is at 70% charge in then morning (6am) when the sun comes back. I'm guessing my math is wrong but can't make sense of this.

whatsapp-image-2021-11-15-at-140536-1.jpeg

4 - Should the DVCC be activated (it is now)? I couldn't find out which settings should be used.

whatsapp-image-2021-11-16-at-072618.jpeg

5 - Bonus question: how bad is it to discharge the battery to 30-40% on some nights? Should I get a second one? What happens if it goes to 0%?

Thanks a lot!!

Manu

cerbo gxbatterysetup
3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

weco-uae avatar image weco-uae commented ·
Hello,

you battery is not maybe equipped with the correct Firmware.