question

ppr avatar image
ppr asked

Fronius Ohmpilot in a Victron environment

Hello

I am rather new to Victron and a young user of Victron. Have my setup at home gathering everything together.
3 x Multiplus II 5000
1x MPPT RS 450/200
1x Cerbo GX
and a Modbus EM24 Smartmeter

My main question is I would love to use the Ohmpilot to heat up my boiler. But the question is if I somehow get this setup going via Modbus on the Cerbo GX. Or if I need something else to get it going.
Your help is very much appreciated. Many thanks, patrik

cerbo gxModbus TCPFronius
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
scraggs avatar image
scraggs answered ·

I have been discussing the same question with a victron supplier and you can use an ohmpilot in a grid attached setup because it works by the meter telling the ohmpilot what is being fed back, it won't work for off grid.
I was advised to use a MY-PV AC Thor which detects frequency shifting for off grid.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

ppr avatar image ppr commented ·
Hi

Thank you for your answer. Does that mean you need the Fronius Smartmeter?
I have a Grid Attached setup.

I just read several threads telling me that My-PV AC Thor does not work as good as Ohmpilot. I dont know. Just reading all and all.

So in fact - how does the setup look like in this case? Ohmpilot, Fronius Smart Meter and all you need to do is connect Ohmpilot with the Smart meter?

0 Likes 0 ·
scraggs avatar image scraggs ppr commented ·
Yes you need the Fronius smart meter.

It did seem to be a fairly decent solution.

0 Likes 0 ·
cristimv avatar image
cristimv answered ·

I can also confirm...My_PV AC-Thor works better in a Victron system... I'm using the single phase version, 3kW

2 |3000

ppr avatar image
ppr answered ·

But no one has tried something like my plan is?