question

pau-farreny avatar image
pau-farreny asked

Fuse rate and cable sizing

Hi,

I have very little knowledge of electronics but these diagram has been very helpful to represent it in a simpler way.

I hope that somebody could give me a recommendation on my design, fuse rate and wire size. I’m open to any recommendations and adjustments.

Thanks to everyone

Wire Location

Max Length (meters)

Wire, mm2

Fuse/Breaker Rating (Amp)

Solar Panels to MPPT

10 - 16 ???

MPPT to (+) Bus Bar

(+) Bus Bar to Second Battery

(+) Bus Bar to DC Fuse Box

(+) Bus Bar to Alternator

(+) Bus Bar to Orion DC-DC

10 ?

45 ?

Orion to main car Battery

35 ?

(+) Bus Bar to Inverter

Inverter to loads 220

-

Components Used:

• 1 x 370 W, 24 v, Mono Solar Panels by Jinko ( Link )

• Smart Solar 100|30 MPPT by Victron ( link )

• Orion tr DC-DC 30A Isolated by Victron ( link )

• 4 x REPT 3.2 280 AH Lifepo4 Battery cells ( link )

• Smart BMS 4S cells 12V 120A (link)

• 300 A Shunt by Mictuning ( link + link shunt )

• 1000 W, 12V, Pure Sine Inverter ( link )

• Main switch 300A ( link )

• Auto midi Fuses (50A to 100A) (Link)

I am living in Europe and I am using this table to guide me in the current withstand in amperes of the cables

Doubts:

1- I am going to use the Inverter to power 2 laptops and a 50L fridge (which opens three times a day). Is it necessary to increase the 25mm2 cables and the 100A fuses?

2- In the MPPT Smart Solar manual, it indicates that it is optional to connect the ground (chassis), is it recommended?

3- Can I connect the negatives (-) of both batteries through the chassis ? Instead of two negative cables from the Orion DC-DC to each battery.

4- Do the negatives (-) have to be connected to the chassis in a lifepo4 system?

5- Should I fuse the positive (+) cable of the main battery to Orion tr?

planol-imitacio-angles.jpg
Diagram attached in PDF
Planol imitacio angles..pdf

Diagram in Imagur
https://imgur.com/hn0At5C