question

kalito avatar image
kalito asked

How do I make my CerboGX script run at boot?

I got a python script which exports data to PVOutput.org. Using Putty I am able to run the script successfully using the following:

nohup python /data/dbus-pvoutput.py > /data/pvoutput.log &

The trouble happens when the CerboGX is rebooted. I realise the need to have the dbus-pvoutput.py run at startup. What do I need to do. Please be patient as its a miracle that I am even asking this question. I am no coder feel free to treat me as a dummy!

cerbo gx
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
bathnm avatar image
bathnm answered ·

in /data you can create a script called rcS.local. That will be run on every reboot. Also as it is in /data it will not be removed on a system update.

4 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kalito avatar image kalito commented ·

Thanks so much for this. So a line in the script with something like?:

python /data/dbus-pvoutput.py &

0 Likes 0 ·
bathnm avatar image bathnm kalito commented ·

yes that should work.

0 Likes 0 ·
paulo-m avatar image paulo-m commented ·
Just a note based on recent experience - if you add your script as rcS.local it will be called *before* networking, etc. is set up. This can, at least, cause your script to fail and at worst cause the device to hang before SSH is up to let you log in and fix it.

Unless the script really needs to be run early, you'd be better creating a file called rc.local as this is executed late in the boot-up process.

0 Likes 0 ·
Kevin Windrem avatar image Kevin Windrem paulo-m commented ·

I had similar issues and running from rc.local didn't solve them. I ended up running the script in the background, then having the script wait for needed resources (in my case dbus Settings service):