question

esmeralda-wirtz avatar image
esmeralda-wirtz asked

Solar pannels giving low energy

Hello everyone,

Think there is an issue with my system. I have 4 solar pannels like this, connected in series.received-222289979112719.jpeg

They are connected in series on my victron

20210324-122726.jpgand it's connected to 2 batteries agm 12-170.

However, even with super sunny days the solar pannels only give very little energy and i don't understand why.

20210324-122637.jpg

Like, this is a picture right now, with full sun on my pannels (they are positioned correctly). Why are they only giving 112W ??

I already checked if the wired are plugged in correctly and tried to read the victron manual many times, but i am an electricity noob.

If you know what's happening and how i could fix it i'd be so happy. This has been going on since i moved in here...

Thank you !!

MPPT ControllersSolar Panel
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Esmeralda Wirtz

At first sight you would appear to be in ~Float mode with a typical V of near fully charged batteries. Ignore that SOC for now, as if you haven't put some time in to tune it, then it is likely wrong. Where is that coming from? The Easy itself or a batt monitor?

To test your system, put on a decent load to the point your batt volts drop a little. The W from the panels should rise, if it doesn't then there's something amiss.

You say your panels are "in series". I hope not, as the Voc will be too high and will damage the mppt. Maybe they're 2S2P, but in any case check your panel V (on the CCGX will do).

3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

esmeralda-wirtz avatar image esmeralda-wirtz commented ·

Hello John, thank you so much for taking the time to answer.