question

davidervin avatar image
davidervin asked

components needed to charge batteries and then go to hot water heater

Good day all.

I am new to this technology and am getting conflicting answers in the "retail world".

I would like to set up a solar system (2x350 Watts) to charge 4x100aH LiFePo4 Batteries and when those are topped up to switch over to start a hot water heater (Bosch or Rheem) to heat the water. Of course at a set temperature I would want to switch off the heater and not have it switch on again until it dropped several degrees so it is not cycling on and off too often.

What components do I need (and what specs) to make this work efficiently. I am thinking I would like to use the Cerbo GX to monitor all of these (and more) devices.

I would appreciate the solution details and any things I should be concerned about that could go wrong.

Many thanks,

MPPT SmartSolarHot Water Diversion
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

shaneyake avatar image shaneyake commented Ā·
What voltage is your DC bus?

Are those hot water heaters DC or AC?

How much power do they use?

If AC do you have an inverter?

Info will help us gave you suggestions.

0 Likes 0 Ā·
2 Answers
taylortops avatar image
taylortops answered Ā·

How did you go with tis? I'm setting a similar system. I'm using either Load Output or Relay of the MPPT to initiate the switch over. I'm experimenting with feeding PV DC current direct to heater element, currently via a MOSFET.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

shaneyake avatar image shaneyake commented Ā·

I have 4x 1kw 48V elements being switched by these mosfets, going through fues and then onto the DC bus. I have a PLC with Temperature probes be the the thermostat. You could use a normal thermostat with a 24V supply to switch these units on and off.