question

thewayes avatar image
thewayes asked

BMV712 switches back to 100%

When my fridge is on the BMV712 appears to be working fine capacity is going down and the ah is increasing but when the fridge cycles the capacity returns to 100% and the ah shows 0

What am I doing wrong as I’m very new to this

Geoff

Lithium Battery
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Thewayes

The BMV will be 'synchronizing' to 100%. It will do that if battery V is higher than the set Charged Voltage and the charge current is lower that the set Tail Current (for x minutes, the Charged Detection Time).

If not charging, it's likely the CV is set too low, and the batt V is bouncing back when your fridge stops drawing amps.

Please read the manual, the BMV needs you to understand these settings to allow it to produce reliable readings of SOC. Over-and-over if need be.. :)

https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Manual-BMV-700-700H-702-712-EN-NL-FR-DE-ES-SE.pdf

3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

thewayes avatar image thewayes commented ·

Thank you for that and yes I’ve been reading it over and over and unfortunately I sometimes find it hard to understand but I’m trying. You’ve been of great help as I’ve found that the battery voltage is 13.3v at 80% and my charged voltage is set at 13.2v so I’m assuming this is what you mean. Also I’m still trying to find what the charge current is set at but I’ll keep looking

Geoff

0 Likes 0 ·
JohnC avatar image JohnC ♦ thewayes commented ·

@Thewayes

Yes, that's what I mean. If you raise that 13.2V to slightly above the batt standing V, then it shouldn't sync prematurely. If you go too far (especially above Float charge level) then it may not sync at all, so go easy..