question

ely avatar image
ely asked

Lithium vs AGM

I plan to change my gel with lithium but I will leave the boat on the hard for 11 months per year for the next 5 years. After I will be on board 4 to 6 months a years. Has anyone any idea on what are the storage constraints for lithium and AGM knowing they will stay on board in countries there the boat will be at the time (. Mostly in the Mediterranean Sea). I will prefer lithium but it depends on how each system will behave for the 11 months. I have 400W of solar panels but I do not know if that will make a difference during these long periods. I will gladly hear any comment or advice. Thanks

battery
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
machined avatar image
machined answered ·

I'm no expert on batteries but I dont think the lithium will like being 100% charged for the 11 months you're gone. On the other hand, the AGM will love being 100% charged for the 11 months. The down side to AGM is that they will go bad fast if you take them below 50% but if you keep them above 80% then you get a lot of life out them. I would recommend 600ah of AGM. That gives you a 125ah of power before you go below 80%. That's plenty while you're there for 6 months and they'll love to be topped up while you're gone. Plus they're maintenance free.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

ely avatar image
ely answered ·

Thanks for your answer. What do you mean by maintenance free?

1 comment
2 |3000

seb71 avatar image seb71 commented ·

"Maintenance free" when talking about Valve Regulated Lead-Acid batteries (AGM or gel) means that you don't have to add distilled water (in comparison with Flooded Lead-Acid batteries/cells).