question

Tim Huang avatar image
Tim Huang asked

choose between LifePO4 or Li-ion in a cold region

Hi community, I am very new to ESS. I want to build a system myself using multiple battery packs and Vitron devices. I live in the northeast part of America, which is fairly cold, below -10 during the winter.

I want to use the LifePO4 battery because its price is more friendly than Li-ion. And I want to put the whole system in the garage. However, like most houses in NA, the garage is not insulated. So it will get -10 Celsius easily.

I heard that LifePO4 will go dead below -20c. So, should I go for the Li-ion battery? Or, should I move the system indoor, like the basement? Maybe it is fine. Any comments and suggestions are appreciated.

Lithium Battery
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

7 Answers
marekp avatar image
marekp answered ·

Check out LiFeYPo4 battery made by Winston.

They can be charged down to -25C.

Charts I got from manufacturer of those cells (Thunder Sky Winston Battery Limited)

The other way to go is to build heated box for the battery.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Tim Huang avatar image Tim Huang commented ·

Gonna check it out. Thanks.

0 Likes 0 ·
dbainbridge avatar image
dbainbridge answered ·

You can not charge LiFePo4 cells if they are below freezing. Some manufactures of LiFePo4 battery systems do provide internal heating because of this but if they are going to be getting that cold you'll be wasting a lot of energy trying to keep them above freezing.

2 comments
2 |3000

Tim Huang avatar image Tim Huang commented ·