question

jacola avatar image
jacola asked

BETA issue on Venus GX firmware

Hello, i am new to the Victron world, but experienced in IoT, Modbus, Control and energy management.

Yesterday my installer finished a nice ESS setup with 16x Pylontech batteries, Venus GX and 3x Multiplus 5000.

I had loaded the latest available beta on the Venus GX because my energy meter is far away and needs to talk Modbus/TCP, now:

- the Beta software seems to be broken in terms of communicating with the Batteries. The installer searched quite some time for the problem before finally downgrading the firmware and the communication with the battery started to work.

- the Modbus/TCP communication with the reader is very strange, it opens huge amount of TCP connections instead of opening ONE connection and using it. I do not have a Gavazzi with ethernet interface, but use the ET340 with a modbus/TCP gateway - so i can share the meter but also see much more. The sheer amount of connections opened is crazy, and the meter communication does not work.

Any ideas ?

I'll post system related questions separately

Johannes

BMV Battery MonitorVenus OS
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image
mvader (Victron Energy) answered ·

Hi @jacola, welcome here and welcome to Victron.

wrt Pylontech batteries not working when running a beta version: what version was that? Please see here for more details about the beta program and where to post test results & possible bug findings: https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ccgx:beta-testing

I’d be surprised if there is an issue with v2.60~29 and Pylontech batteries: its a very popular battery; no other complaints and also no issue on our r&d test system.