question

chordaroy avatar image
chordaroy asked

Firmware Update & Battery Charging

Hi, I am new to solar systems (pretty excited) and have just purchased an Easy Solar 24/1600/40/16 MPPT 100/50, BMV712, VE Bluetooth dongle (for controller) and two 12v 220 amp Lead Acid Batteries which I will be taking to my remote cabin. There is no internet or mains power available there.

I have two questions which I would appreciate answers for.

Is it ok to charge my batteries using the easy solar, charge only mode, connected to mains before i take them bush and connect the solar panels? How will I know the batteries are 100% charged before syncing to the BMV?

Regarding the BMV712. Should I update the firmware (is it necessary) on the BMV before syncing to the batteries? Are there other devices needing firmware updates in the Easy Solar and if so should I update those as well before taking them out of internet access?

Thanks for help in advance.

C’roy

BMV Battery Monitorfirmware update
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
jbakuwel avatar image
jbakuwel answered ·

Hi @Chordaroy,

You surely can charge your batteries using the grid before going bush. Just make sure you set the correct charging voltages and then let the EasySolar do the job. Be careful when transporting: as you're transporting "bombs" :-) make sure nothing conducting can fall on the battery terminals during transport.

The BMV manual should explain sufficiently how the "syncing" works. The inverter inside the EasySolar determines when the batteries are full and will stop charging (not the BMV).

I would indeed update all firmware before going offline.

I would also download all the manuals for all the components in the EasySolar so you have those readily available on site.

Jan

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.