question

elvistherv avatar image
elvistherv asked

Spiky SmartSolar MPPT 250/100 Output

My Setup: 6x 120W 12v Panels in 3x 24v strings in parallel and 2x Unknow 12v Panels (although the same size as the 120W ones) in a single 24v string, in parallel with the other panels.

These feed into a Smart Solar 250/100.

This then connects to the rest of my system which is a. 5Kva Quattro, BMV-712 and CCGX.

All are linked via VE. Can or VE Bus and using DVCC with SVS, STS and SCS from the BMV. (I did initially join the MPPT and BMV in a VE smart network but removed that after reading the documentation).

They go into a 960Ah LA battery bank of 8x Trojan T125 6V batteries wired as a 12v bank.

So my issue is that the MPPT output seems to be incredibly spiky, with, it looks like, a lot of wasted energy.

Now I’m no expert on MPPT and I understand that the controller tries to find the “best” voltage to run the panels at for the best overall power so maybe what I am seeing is entirely normal, so based on the screenshots I’m more looking for a sense check.

I initially thought it might be shading and where I’m parked certainly there is tree shading in the morning but by mid day this is no longer an issue.

Then I thought it maybe related to it being slightly cloudy so the overal sun intensity carrying quite quickly but it’s been blue sky’s today without a cloud in the sky and it’s still spiky (the screen shoots are from today).

As you can see this is over a 2 minute period.

This is the days PV yield graph:

MPPT ControllersMultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargerBMV Battery MonitorCCGX Color Control
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) avatar image
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) answered ·

Hi @ElvisTheRV,

I think there might be an issue with your PV wiring, or solar array configuration.

Can you please provide more info:

• A wiring diagram