question

jordandevereux avatar image
jordandevereux asked

12v 3000W 220v Inverter U.K. Flashing Green Light Sold Overload Light

Hi guys,

I've done some looking around online for an answer and also looked at the Victron PDF manual for this inverter but I just hoped someone could give me some confirmation and further advice on this

Picked up a Victron Inverter on the second hand market. I've tried testing it out prior to putting money on it, I'm fairly new to this type of electrical work but have some basic handyman type skills and have done quite a bit of research on what sort of system I finally want.

Anyway tried to test this thing out using some wire that I had from a 1000W inverter and using my vans newish strong 75AH 12v battery. Battery is about 5 months old and has been well maintained and had a voltage reading of 12.60 at the time of this test.

Anyway I included a video of what is going on, so I've got it wired up, and I switch it to ON and then there are some clicking noises and green light is flashing and Overload is sold red. By using some of the information I found from other posts, Is there any point in me testing this out with beefier wire / larger battery or is it pretty safe to conclude that it is faulty/shorted?

I couldn't find a HQ number on it but it did have a label on two of the boards which I thought may show that this was mamufactured in 2021, which if is true, would this still be under warranty? Even though I could be second owner with no paperwork?

Can something like this be fixed with some patience and time?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Jordan

img-20240525-161248.jpg

fault
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@JordanDevereux

You need to precharge the inverter capacitor bank. Usually a beefy resistor will do. Your battery cannot the surge needed to do it.